Final tour concert: Kent Nagano and the OSM in the Berlin Philharmonie (March 2019)

On Monday, 25 March, Kent Nagano and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal together with pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet will be guest in the Berlin Philharmonie. It will be the farewell concert of the Europe tour of Kent Nagano and the OSM.

The concert will be streamed live on Medici.TV and the Facebook page of the OSM. The stream is available worldwide except in Germany. Please click here. One day later, the entire concert will be available worldwide without exception for 30 days on the OSM website.

Find here further information on the concert.

The entire concert can be streamed here until 25 April.


Tourstart: OSM and Kent Nagano’s Europe Tour (March 2019)

On Monday, 11 March the big European tour by Kent Nagano and the OSM will start with a concert in Dusseldorf. On the program will be works by Debussy, Mozart and Stravinsky.

The orchestra and Kent Nagano will also be guest in the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Berlin Philharmonie, Vienna Concert House and Paris’ Cité de la musique, among others.

Soloists of the tour are pianists Jean-Yves Thibaudet and Rafał Blechacz as well as alto Marie-Nicole Lemieux.

Find here an overview of the tourdates.

Kent Nagano | Announcement of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal’s 2019-20 Season (March 2019)

Kent Nagano and the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) announced their coming season 2019/20 on 28 February 2019. It will be Kent Nagano’s final season as Music Director of the OSM and with more than 100 concerts it will feature celebrations, prestigious invited guests, and performances of great masterpieces of the symphonic repertoire.

At the season’s opening concert, in September 2019, Kent Nagano and the OSM will present works by Shostakovich, Schoenberg and Rachmaninoff. Throughout the season, they will perform concert programs, which reflect Kent Nagano’s legacy with the orchestra: Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4 as well as the traditional Christmas program, this year featuring Bach’s Christmas Oratorio. In January 2020, Kent Nagano will also conduct the OSM’s first cycle of Schubert Symphonies at a festival dedicated to showing the many facets of this composer.
In February 2020, Pascal Dusapin’s Symphony pour orgue et orchestre “Waves” will have its North America premiere both in the Maison Symphonique and in Toronto under the direction of Kent Nagano – after being world premiered in Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie in January.

In October 2019, the OSM and Kent Nagano will be performing on a tour in Latin America and in Chicago. Soloists will be the violinist Veronika Eberle and Pianist Denis Matsuev.

In March 2020, the orchestra and its Music Director will be re-invited to New York’s Carnegie Hall. Together with pianist Mikhail Pletnev they will perform Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A minor.

Kent Nagano about his last season as the OSM’s Music Director:

“Nearly twenty years after my very first collaboration with the OSM as a guest conductor, the 2019–2020 season provides the Orchestra with a new opportunity to offer themes that engage with a variety of perspectives and experiences: we hope they will be a source of wonder and vitality for our audience members while remaining at the forefront of our modern lives.”

Here you can find further information on the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal’s new season 2019/20.

Opening of “Espace OSM” (January 2019)

On 31 January 2019, the brand new “Espace OSM” will open its doors to the public. Adjoining the Maison symphonique, this new space aligns with the OSM’s ongoing outreach, educational, and socio-recreational mission, marking its 85th anniversary in a truly meaningful way!

The venue will be open before concerts begin, enabling the public to discover the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal and classical music in new ways! The Espace OSM is entirely free of charge, with exhibitions and installations that trace the OSM’s amazing history, providing visitors with the experience of a living, modern and forward-looking orchestra. The Espace OSM is also equipped to host various events and temporary exhibitions, as well as offering additional opportunities to bring the orchestra closer to its public and to different members of the community. Throughout its variously equipped areas, the Espace OSM engages visitors in an OSM experience that transcends the concert hall.

Find here more information on the new Espace OSM.

Kent Nagano and Charles Richard-Hamelin in Montréal (October 2018)

On 12 and 14 October, Kent Nagano and pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin will perform concerts with the OSM. On the program will be Chopin’s piano concertos No. 1 and 2 as well as the Serenade in e flat major by Richard Strauss.

The concert on Sunday, 14 October will be streamed as Facebook live on the Facebook page of the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, streamed and presented by Find here a link with further information. The stream will start at 20.30 CET (19.30 GMT)


Kent Nagano and the OSM go on Nunavik Tour (September 2018)

From 9 – 19 September Kent Nagano and musicians of the OSM will go on tour to the very north of Quebec and will trace a path from the arctic down through Quebec’s interior toward the Côte-Nord. The chamber opera Chaakapesh of the young Canadian composer Matthew Ricketts was commissioned especially  for  this upcoming  tour. 10 years after their first visit, Kent Nagano and the OSM will visit Inuit, Cree and Innu villages and will perform Chaakapesh, composed for five languages (Cree, Inuktitut, Innu, French and English). Cree playwright Tomson Highway provided the idea and wrote the libretto. It is based on a Cree legend, similar to the biblical Noah story. Find here an interview with the composer Matthew Ricketts about the OSM commission.

Find here the performances dates and venues of the tour:

10 September

12 September

14 September

17 September

18 September

19 September
Uashat mak Mani-Utenam