Premiere with new work by David Philip Hefti at the Graz Opera (May 2023)

On 24 May, the ballet production “Der Tod und das Mädchen” will celebrate its premiere at Graz Opera. Musically and choreographically, the production combines Hefti’s commissioned work „Ans Ende der Zeit“ with Franz Schubert’s famous string quartet “Der Tod und das Mädchen“. The ballet of the Graz Opera dances in a choreography by ballet director Beate Vollack and is accompanied by the PhilQuartett of the Graz Philharmonic Orchestra. Further performances on 31 May, 15 and 17 June 2023.

More information about the work here.

Omer Meir Wellber in Parma (May 2023)

Tonight Omer Meir Wellber will present a special program in Parma together with the Filarmonica Arturo Toscanini and mandolinist Jacob Reuven. In addition to works by Webern and Tschaikowski, Wellber will present Aziza Sadikova’s Chaconne for Mandolin and Large Orchestra for the first time. Please find more information on the work here.

4 May, 2023 – Parma, Auditorium Paganini

Webern: Ricercata, Fugue for 6 voices
Aziza Sadikova: Chaconne for mandolin and large orchestra on Partita No. 2 for solo violin BWV 1004 by J.S. Bach
Tschaikowski: Symphony No. 6 in B minor op. 74 Patetica

Live on NDR Kultur – Kent Nagano and Jan Vogler with the Philharmonic State Orchestra (April 2023)

After the acclaimed world premiere at New York’s Carnegie Hall on 22 April, Kent Nagano, Jan Vogler and the Philharmonic State Orchestra Hamburg will present the German premiere of Sean Shepherd’s new work for for cello, (children’s/youth) choirs and orchestra based on a cycle of poems by the poet Ulla Hahn as well as works by Brahms and Beethoven at the International Musikfest Hamburg at the Elbphilharmonie. This will be followed by another performance at Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie on 30 April and at Dresden’s Kulturpalast on 5 May.

NDR Kultur will broadcast the concert live from the Elbphilharmonie on Friday, 28 April 2023 at 8pm CET.

Kent Nagano and the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra go on tour! (April 2023)

The State Orchestra is playing in New York, but there is also the opportunity to experience the concert program presented in Carnegie Hall in Germany. On Saturday, April 22, 2023, General Music Director Kent Nagano will lead a concert at Carnegie Hall that brings together cellist Jan Vogler, 90 musicians from the Staatsorchester, and 100 young choral singers between the ages of eleven and 27 from Hamburg, Germany, and New York. The program will be presented again on April 28 and 30, 2023, in the Elbphilharmonie for the opening of the International Music Festival Hamburg, and on May 5, 2023, as part of the Dresden Music Festival.

The program takes up the unifying idea by combining Johannes Brahms from Hamburg (Schicksalslied for choir and orchestra) and Ludwig van Beethoven (8th Symphony), arguably the most important German composer in the world, with a contemporary U.S. composer living in New York: Sean Shepherd’s work “An einem klaren Tag – On a Clear Day,” which will be premiered here, is based on a cycle of poems by the lyricist Ulla Hahn. Shepherd’s composition for cello, choirs and orchestra was commissioned by the Philharmonisches Staatsorchester and the Dresden Music Festival.

Kent Nagano in Berlin (April 2023)

On Saturday, April 8, 2023, Kent Nagano returns to Berlin to present a special program, matching the Easter days, with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester and the Audi Jugendchorakademie.

The concert will be broadcast live at 8:03 p.m. on Deutschlandfunk Kultur:


Johannes Brahms: ‘Ein deutsches Requiem’ for soli, choir and orchestra (Bremen version)

Reconstruction of the version Brahms put together for the Bremen performance on April 10, 1868 – still without the fifth movement, but with inserted movements by Bach, Handel, Tartini and Schumann.

Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Kent Nagano
Audi Youth Choir Academy
Martin Steidler – choral conducting

Rachael Wilson – mezzo-soprano
Konstantin Krimmel – baritone
Marina Grauman – violin
Jakub Sawicki – organ

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s PERSIST (April 2023)

Disrupt, PSO’s brand-new music event series, kicks off April 15 with Persist, an evening of Shostakovich and his dramatic Symphony No. 10, combining classical music with interactive pre-concert activities, themed cocktails, visual projections, and backstage glimpses. More information here.

Live stream of Omer Meir Wellber’s concert in Stockholm (March 2023)

Today’s concert with Omer Meir Wellber and the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra will be broadcasted live at 7:00 pm CET on Berwaldhallen Play and in the Swedish Radio.

The special program combines contemporary pieces from Ella Milch-Sheriff (The Eternal Stranger) and Anders Hillborg (Viola Concerto) with Beethovens Symphony No. 5 and the ouverture from his music to Goethe’s tragedy Egmont.

31 March – Stockholm, Berwaldhallen
The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Omer Meir Wellber
Beethoven: Egmont, overture
Anders Hillborg: Concerto for viola
Lawrence Power – viola
Ella Milch-Sheriff: The Eternal Stranger
Eli Danker – narrator
Beethoven: Symphony No. 5

Piano en famille (March 2023)

Together with Mari Kodama, Momo Kodama and Karin Nagano, Kent Nagano presented a special program in Geneva, including Mozart’s Piano Concerto for Three Pianos and Poulenc’s Piano Concerto for Two Pianos, with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande. In April, Mari Kodama travels to the US for concerts with the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra conducted by Lan Shui: the program includes Mendelssohn’s 1st Piano Concerto.

The young recorder player and allround musician Max Volbers (March 2023)

The young recorder player and allround musician Max Volbers will be playing in a wide variety of constellations in the coming weeks. This Sunday he will play a program entitled “Comprovisations” in Kleve as recorder player together with the lutenist David Bergmüller and in early April as harpsichordist at the Festival de Paques in Aix-en-Provence together with the recorder player Lucie Horsch.

26 March – Kleve, Museum Kurhaus
Max Volbers – recorder
David Bergmüller – lute

3 April – Aix-en-Provence, Festival de Pâques
Max Volbers – harpsichord
Lucie Horsch – recorder