Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra announces 2021-2022 season (June 2021)

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra announced the 2021-2022 season and will welcome back audiences to Heinz Hall with full orchestra for the first time in 18 months in September 2021 when its new season begins. The 2021-2022 season is also the 50th anniversary of Heinz Hall, the home of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s 2021-2022 season will be the 14th under the direction of its Music Director Manfred Honeck and the 126th in the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s celebrated history.


Kent Nagano in Berlin and on tour with the DSO (June 2021)

Kent Nagano, as Honorary Conductor, conducts the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin (DSO) in its final Berlin concert of the 2020/2021 season on Friday, 25 June at 8 p.m. The Philharmonie will feature Paul Hindemith’s Chamber Music No. 1, Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with soloist Seong-Jin Cho, and Franz Schubert’s Symphony No. 3. At the Kissinger Sommer, Nagano will present the same program with the DSO on June 27 – except for Hindemith’s chamber music. On July 1 in Ravello, Schubert’s Third Symphony is preceded by Richard Wagner’s ‘Siegfried Idyll’ and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 with Mari Kodama.READ MORE

Midori and the Festival Strings Lucerne perform in front of a large audience at the KKL Luzern on 1 July 2021 (June 2021)

Following the Swiss Federal Council’s decision to allow large-scale events in enclosed spaces again, the KKL Luzern, the Festival Strings Lucerne and violinist Midori are sending out a sign of life for the entire industry by playing a concert on July 1 in front of more than 1,000 guests.

Thursday, 1 July 2021, 19:30 (CET), KKL Luzern
Festival Strings Lucerne, Daniel Dodds
Midori – violin
Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D major Op. 61
Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B major Op. 60READ MORE

David Philip Hefti in Basel (Juni 2021)

As one of the first concerts with a higher audience capacity in Switzerland, David Philip Hefti’s Final(ment)e –
Beziehungsweisen for two trumpets and orchestra will be premiered by the Sinfonieorchester Basel, Immanuel Richter and Huw Morgan on trumpet and conducted by the composer himself. It was commissioned by the Sinfonieorchester Basel and the concert is also the orchestra’s season finale.READ MORE

Mari Kodama at the 3. Chopin Festival Hamburg (June 2021)

Mari Kodama will give a sonata recital at the 3rd Chopin Festival Hamburg on Saturday, 12 June 2021 at 8:15 pm. After the festival had to be cancelled last summer, it will finally take place and will also be broadcast live on the YouTube channel by the Chopin Gesellschaft Hamburg & Sachsenwald e.V.

Saturday 12 June 2021, 8:15 p.m., 3rd Chopin Festival Hamburg.
Mari Kodama: “Sonata Evening: Chopin, Ravel and H. Dutilleux.”
Erard (1880) / Shigeru Kawai SK7 (2019).
Works by F. Chopin, M. Ravel, H. Dutilleux

Midori on DW Classical Music (June 2021)

Midori: World-famous villinist and UN Messenger of Peace