Kent Nagano with the premiere of “Les Contes d’Hoffmann” (September 2021)

On 4 September, Kent Nagano will lead the Staatsorchester Hamburg, the Choir of the Staatsoper Hamburg and soloists in the premiere of Jacques Offenbach’s opera Les Contes d’Hoffmann at the Staatsoper Hamburg. This Opéra Fantastique in five acts is staged by Daniele Finzi Pasca.

4 September, Hamburg, Staatsoper, 6 p.m.
Staatsorchester Hamburg
Offenbach: Les Contes d’Hoffmann Premiere
Daniele Finzi Pasca – director

Opéra Fantastique in five acts
Libretto by Jules Barbier
Based on the play by Jules Barbier and Michel Carré
Edited by Michael Kaye and Jean-Christophe Keck

Further performances: 7, 10, 16, 19, 22 and 25 September

For more information click here.

The Moritzburg Festival 2021 starts this weekend (August 2021)

This year’s Moritzburg Festival will take place from August 7 to 22. In addition to the opening concert with Jan Vogler (violoncello), Mira Wang (violin), Ulrich Eichenauer (viola) and Janne Saksala (double bass), among others, the program is full of interesting programs. A highlight is the orchestral concert with the Moritzburg Festival Orchestra under Josep Caballé Domenech and featuring Kevin Zhu (violin), Jan Vogler (cello), Mishka Rushdie Momen (piano) and works by de Arriaga, Beethoven and Schumann. Also on the program are the Picnic Concert in the Proschwitz Palace Park, the Long Night of Chamber Music on the North Terrace of Moritzburg Palace, and Special Chamber Music Performances. More information and details can be found here.

This year, the unique atmosphere of eleven concerts on the North Terrace of the Moritzburg Castle and one symphonic concert at the Philharmonic Concert Hall Dresden can be experienced worldwide for the first time through Dreamstage. Please find more information here.

Francisco Fullana at the Gezeiten Konzerte (July 2021)

On 2 August, Francisco Fullana will perform two concerts together with Matthias Kirschnereit at the festival Gezeiten Konzerte in the Neue Kirche Emden with works by Debussy, Paderewski and de Falla.

The concerts at a glance:

2 August, 5 & 8 p.m., Neue Kirche Emden
Francisco Fullana – violin
Matthias Kirschnereit – piano
Debussy: Sonata for violin and piano in G minor
Paderewski: Sonata for violin and piano in A minor
de Falla: “Suite populaire espagnole”

More information here.

Midori Spotlight Program produced by Washington Performing Arts (July 2021)

“Perhaps no other artist of our time has had a more profound impact on the development of string musicians and audiences throughout the world. Her supreme musicianship, inspirational commitment to excellence, and tireless advocacy for her chosen art form make this a must-see experience for all music lovers.”
– Douglas H. Wheeler, Washington Performing Arts President Emeritus

Washington Performing Arts (WPA) recently produced a Spotlight program showcasing Midori as performer and teacher and highlighting her Partners in Performance (PiP) organization with a panel discussion. Midori was named a recipient of WPA’s 2020 Ambassador of the Arts Award in recognition of extraordinary achievement, service, and advocacy in the performing arts.READ MORE

Jan Vogler at the 74th Festival de Cannes (July 2021)

Bill Murray, Cellist Jan Vogler, violinist Mira Wang and pianist Vanessa Perez present NEW WORLDS: THE CRADLE OF CIVILIZATIONat the 74th Festival de Cannes.

As part of the Special Screenings, the music film will be shown at 8:45 p.m. CET on 16 July at the Théâtre Claude Debussy. In the film, the artists are accompanied on their shared musical journey, taking viewers on a special time travel through musical and literary history, including works by Bach, Beethoven and Shostakovich, as well as texts by Hemingway and Whitman. The film was directed by Andrew Muscato.


Francisco Fullana at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (July 2021)

Francisco Fullana will perform a concert at Schloss Bothmer with Tomomi Sato at the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival with Schumann’s Sonata No. 2 in D minor for violin and piano, op. 121, and his Romance No. 2 in A major for violin and piano, op. 94. The Ensemble der Bothmer Musik will also perform Bach’s Concerto No. 4 in A major and Mozart’s Piano Quartet in G minor.

15 July 2021, 8:00 p.m., Klütz, Bothmer Castle.
Schumann: Sonata No. 2 in D minor for violin and piano op. 121
Schumann: Romance No. 2 in A major for violin and piano op. 94
Francisco Fullana – violin
Tomomi Sato – piano
and with the Bothmer Music Ensemble:
Bach: Concerto No. 4 in A major for accordion and string quartet BWV 1055
Mozart: Piano quartet in G minor KV 478

For more information click here.


Kent Nagano on the podcast “Embrace Everything – The World of Gustav Mahler” (July 2021)

Season 2 of the Embrace Everything – The World of Gustav Mahler podcast series, an exploration of the composer’s complete symphonies, is available here and on all audio streaming services starting today.

Season 2 focuses on Mahler’s Second Symphony in C minor (1888-1894), delving into Mahler’s musical exploration of life, death, and what lies beyond. Each episode is devoted to a movement of the symphony. Kent Nagano is featured in the episodes 1, 3 and 5.

The Embrace Everything podcast series was created and is hosted by award-winning radio producer Aaron Cohen. It explores and celebrates the music of Gustav Mahler (1860–1911) by taking a journey through his symphonies. Using interviews with leading Mahler interpreters and scholars, readings from the letters of Mahler and his contemporaries, commentary from Mr. Cohen, and the sounds of the symphonies themselves, each season of the series guides listeners through one of these landmark works in the orchestral repertoire.

Omer Meir Wellber at the Teatro di Verdura (July 2021)

On Sunday, 9 July Omer Meir Wellber will conduct the Orchestra di Teatro Massimo at Teatro di Verdura in Palermo. With pianist Daniel Ciobanu, mezzosoprano Natalia Gavrilan and the choir of the Teatro Massimo, the program will include works by Rachmaninov and Prokofiev.

Sunday, 4 July 2021 at 09:15 pm CET at Teatro di Verdura
Teatro Massimo Chorus and Orchestra

Conductor Omer Meir Wellber
Piano Daniel Ciobanu
Mezzosoprano Natalia Gavrilan
Chorus Master Ciro Visco

Rachmaninov: Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in C minor op. 18
Prokofiev: Aleksandr Nevskij, Cantata for mezzosoprano, chorus and orchestra with videoprojection of Ejzenštejn’s movie

Please find more information here, tickets can be bought here.

Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra announces 2021-2022 season (June 2021)

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra announced the 2021-2022 season and will welcome back audiences to Heinz Hall with full orchestra for the first time in 18 months in September 2021 when its new season begins. The 2021-2022 season is also the 50th anniversary of Heinz Hall, the home of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra.

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s 2021-2022 season will be the 14th under the direction of its Music Director Manfred Honeck and the 126th in the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s celebrated history.